The Last of Us comes out today worldwide and gamers seem to be enjoying one of the best games ever made. However, some of them are reporting a glitch where the autosave simply stops working and this means your progress won’t be saved.
You will have to quit the game and it will start at the last section where the autosave successfully worked. The only thing you can do here is to constantly monitor your progress by pressing start and seeing the text “less than X minutes” on your screen. If you can see that then the autosave is working correctly, but if you see “autosaving, please wait“, then it’s time to quit the game.
Naughty Dog has not announced any patch for this and this doesn’t seem like a major issue if you pay attention to the autosave text in the pause menu.
Update: Naughty Dog has said that it’s a server side problem and has been fixed. Just restart the game and you won’t face this issue again. For people who have lost significant progress, unfortunately that can’t be recovered but your current working saves are safe. If you’re still unsure then you can just play offline.