First DmC Devil May Cry Review Score Revealed

Swedish magazine LEVEL has reviewed DmC Devil May Cry and they have given it a great 9/10 score.

The review praises the game a lot and has mentioned that there is a lot of fun variation in the level design: Dante swings between platforms, avoids incoming trains and explores vertical sewers. The multiple stage transformations throughout the game is well integrated in the story that is being told.

Ninja Theory is taking a more serious approach than Capcom in the story-department. The controls in DmC isn’t as good as in the previous DMC-games – it’s much better. It has also been mentioned that DmC veterans will feel at home and there’s a high level of skill required to unleash chain combos.

Basically all the changes has been for the better good; combining Devil May Cry’s deep, sophisticated action with the modern action-adventure stage-design.

The review is extremely positive and it looks like Ninja Theory have nailed the game. It will be released on January 15th for the PS3 and Xbox 360; and on January 25th for the PC.

Devil May Cry

Via 

22 Comments

  1. Will Russell

    December 31, 2012 at 1:29 am

    First scores are almost always the best.

  2. Dino Donte

    December 31, 2012 at 1:44 am

    Ah, “It has also been mentioned that DmC veterans will feel at home and there’s a high level of skill required to unleash chain combos.”
    Lol this guys is obviously paid, have you seen the beta where the person was spamming the same moves over and over again.
    Also those framerate issues in the beta.

    • marc

      December 31, 2012 at 5:02 am

      There was no beta just a demo, also the 360 version had no framerate issues to speak of, lastly to jump to the conclusion that because an opinion is different to yours it must be bought is pathetic really.

    • zeroskie

      December 31, 2012 at 6:28 am

      By framerate issues you mean the 30fps limit, then yes that’s a problem. Another problem I have is no lock-on and as for the “high level of skill required to chain combos” that’s really far from true. If anything the game is more accessible because it’s so easy to chain combos.

      That being said the rest of the game looks very good and I can’t wait to play it.

    • regalsmeagol

      December 31, 2012 at 7:59 am

      “have you seen the beta where the person was spamming the same moves over and over again”
      You mean using the axe to get an SSS rating?
      Oh yeah, because in the final game you can totally exploit a glitch that was actually fixed months ago.

      • Ku Ku Chai

        January 9, 2013 at 3:37 pm

        I recall Resident Evil 6 having the very same glitch that was on the demo of the game.

  3. Budgiecat

    December 31, 2012 at 3:07 am

    What kind of BS article is this?? You’re trying to serve us crap and make us think it’s caviar? The demo for this game was atrocious and no the controls are not better. No lock on, SSS chain combo was found to be broken, the guns did no damage at all, framerate was capped at 30 fps (PC version will have 60 fps), there were glitches and freezes and the button layout for the controls were cumbersome. Never mind the ugly look of the game due to Unreal Engine where everything looks like dry clay….

    • Jin

      December 31, 2012 at 3:29 am

      The guns are for chain linking the combos. If you didn’t have your head so far up your own ass your own find this game to be better than you should be expecting.

      • Budgiecat

        January 11, 2013 at 6:02 pm

        The guns have ALWAYS been for chain linking the combos you bloated pregnant hippo. BUT the past games the guns actually still did damage that was the god damn point of that part of my post you airheaded aids infested mosquito.

    • Eccentricone

      December 31, 2012 at 5:44 am

      Huh? That’s what the review says.

      • zeroskie

        December 31, 2012 at 6:26 am

        I think Jin is replying to Budgiecat’s negative comment about the article, not the article itself.

        • Budgiecat

          January 11, 2013 at 6:03 pm

          my comment is not negative. It’s filled with good happiness stuff

  4. Honkerhonk Honk Honky

    December 31, 2012 at 5:08 am

    wow, so will metal gear rising get a 15/10? because it looks miles beyond this shit

  5. Funkyvoltron

    December 31, 2012 at 7:56 am

    What? Someone disagrees with me? THEY MUST BE GETTING PAID TO LIE. MY OPINION HOLDS TRUE FOR EVERYONE EVER.
    I sort of knew entitled fanboys would flood in after this game was scored.

  6. Massacred

    December 31, 2012 at 9:07 am

    … Unbelivable, well guys let’s just count this the quantum of solace of DMC

  7. Elias Sideras

    December 31, 2012 at 1:48 pm

    Who gives a fuck about Devil may suck dick. I wanna hear about that Ni No Kuni review there.

    • Labossiere

      December 31, 2012 at 2:21 pm

      ^ This motherfucker’s got a good point.

  8. dirkradke

    December 31, 2012 at 3:26 pm

    I played the DMC demo on 360 and didn’t have any glitches are real problems with the combos like some mentioned here. For whatever reason though I didn’t like it. It may have been all the combo combinations and such that you have to memorize to be a real bad a$$ when I’m not sure I plan to buy the game.

  9. BigKahn

    December 31, 2012 at 3:30 pm

    Humanity is dead. This is proof that humans are incapable of knowing good games from bad ones. Who knows what’ll be next?

    If people seriously give this game a good review then they’ll kill the game Industry. Anyone who disagrees with me is a casual. FACT.

  10. Anonymous

    December 31, 2012 at 6:24 pm

    Totally not a paid review! H-Honestly guys!

  11. Richard N

    January 2, 2013 at 1:56 am

    THIS GUY IS PAID!! TOTALLY!! BECAUSE A GAME I DON”T LIKE GOT A GOOD SCORE YOU ALL SUCK!! EVEN I HAVEN”T EVEN PLAYED IT YET!!

  12. saint3k

    January 11, 2013 at 2:01 pm

    wow

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *